Back To News


July 14th, 2020


DES MOINES, Iowa – July 14, 2020 - Chad Proehl of Urbandale, IA, won the Iowa PGA Section Professional Championship, July 14, 2020 at Wakonda Club. He will lead seven Section PGA Professionals to compete in the 54th PGA Professional Championship, April 25-28, at PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Florida.
Proehl turned in a winning total of 70-73-68=211, 5-under-par to capture the Iowa PGA Professional Championship title. Jeffrey Schmid of Iowa City, IA was runner-up, finishing at 74-70-68=212, 4-under-par.
Proehl captured the Senior Division Title as well with rounds of 70-73-68=211 to sit 5-under-par. Schmid of Brown Deer Golf Club carded 74-70-68=212 with 4-under-par to finish runner up to Proehl.
The Super Senior Division was led by Jeff Smith of Oskaloosa, IA with rounds of 74-74-77=225 for a total of 9-over-par. Runner up Ken Schall of Norwalk, IA carded rounds of 78-74-77=229 with 13-over-par.
Proehl and Schmid are joined by Tracy Vest of Iowa City, IA, John Bermel of Cedar Falls, IA, Darin Fisher of Albia, IA and Judd Gibb of Fort Dodge, IA.   Sean McCarty of Solon, IA was exempt by playing in the PGA Cup Matches in the Fall of 2019. Jeffrey Schmid of Iowa City, IA was exempt for his Top 20 finish in the 53rd PGA Professional National Championship.  These seven Iowa PGA Professionals will be competing in the 54th PGA Professional Championship, April 25-28, at PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Florida.

The PGA Professional Championship and 41 PGA Section Championships feature a total purse of more than $1.5 million. The PGA Professional Championship purse is $650,000, distributed among those who make the cut in the 312-player field. Golf Channel will televise all four rounds of the national Championship.
If eligibility is met and maintained, the low 20 scorers in 2021 will earn berths into the 103rd PGA Championship, May 20-23, 2021, at The Ocean Course in Kiawah Island, South Carolina.
In addition to the Walter Hagen Cup, the PGA Professional Championship winner also receives an exemption into the next 10 PGA Professional Championships and exemptions into six PGA TOUR events over a 12-month period.
Established in 1968, the PGA Professional Championship roster of Champions includes the following premier TOUR professionals: Sam Snead, Bob Rosburg, Don Massengale, Ed Dougherty, Larry Gilbert, and Bruce Fleisher.
The PGA Professional Championship is presented by Club Car and OMEGA. Supporting sponsors are Titleist/FootJoy, NIKE and TaylorMade.  Presenting partners are Golf Channel and the PGA TOUR. The 41 Section Championships and the National Championship offer a combined purse of more than $1.5 million.
About the PGA of America
The PGA of America represents the very best in golf. For more information about the PGA of America, visit and follow us on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Contact: Stephanie Mason     319-648-0026